Welcome Guest
[ Log In :: Register ]

 

[ Track this topic :: Email this topic :: Print this topic ]

Topic: Purposely deleted bookmarks to stay so after synch, ?< Next Oldest | Next Newest >
Second
Unregistered





Posted: Jan. 06 2004,13:12

4. when merging - make another mode, where one source  be selected as "master", the other as "slave" - or "up-to-date" and "to-be-updated" - and then any links that are NOT present in the master/up-to-date, but ARE present in the slave/to-be-updated should be DELETED.
Maybe this is not the best way to do the things, but that is I can think of now. Maybe you will find some more creative solution - by looking at file's time/date (but does Bookmarks in Netscape/Opera have time/date of creation/modify?) or whatever. The goal is - if some links are removed by the user on purpose - the synchronization to work so, that they are not "restored" from the older bookmark source...
Or maybe in the BCM's bookmark browser add ability to delete/rename/move/copy/create and to somehow "mark changes as master and synchronize".... but it is more convenient to use the web-browser bookmark managing tools (for me - just "explore Favorites" and then using same methods as for files), not some yet-another-way-of-doing-the-same-thing....
Back to top
Magnus Brading
Almighty Author



Group: Super Administrators
Posts: 2751
Joined: Aug. 2002
Posted: Jan. 06 2004,18:00

The current version of Bookmark Converter behaves even better than that. If you purposely delete a bookmark in ANY bookmark collection in a sync-set, it is deleted in all the others too on the next sync. Remember to perform a real sync and not just a merge though.

--------------
Software author and website owner
Back to top
Profile PM WEB 
Second
Unregistered





Posted: Jan. 08 2004,11:44

thanks!
Back to top
2 replies since Jan. 06 2004,13:12 < Next Oldest | Next Newest >

[ Track this topic :: Email this topic :: Print this topic ]